On-Site RV Housing for Insurance Claims · In Our Network
Shelter On-Site Review 2026
An RV on your driveway in 48 hours, billed to your carrier. We checked the savings math.
What Is Shelter On-Site?
Bottom line: Shelter On-Site is the operator end of this category. It delivers a furnished RV to a policyholder's property, sets it up, connects utilities, and invoices the insurance carrier directly every month so the family pays nothing out of pocket. Published rate is $1,500 – $3,000/month, average placement 48 hours average.
Two things set it apart from the directories. It publishes a rate, which almost nobody in displacement housing does. And it bills the carrier, which removes the real problem in an ALE claim: floating months of housing on a credit card while an adjuster works. The deduction in our rating is for a headline savings claim that its own numbers do not support at the low end, and for a silence about who pays for a pad.
✅ Good for:
- An open ALE claim where you want to stay on your own lot
- Families who cannot float housing costs while a claim is adjusted
- Adjusters who need standardized documentation and monthly invoicing
- Restoration contractors housing crews near a job
- Anyone who needs something on the ground this week
⚠️ Not the best fit for:
- Properties where the county will not permit an occupied RV
- Lots with no driveway space, septic access, or power drop
- Anyone without a claim, the model is built around carrier billing
- Vacation rentals, this is displacement and workforce housing
- Renters wanting to pick a specific rig from a listing
We Ran Their Savings Claim Through Their Own Numbers
Shelter On-Site advertises a "50–70% Reduction in ALE Spend" to adjusters. That claim is checkable against the rates on the same page, so we checked it.
| Scenario (6 months, their published figures) | Hotel | Shelter On-Site RV | Actual saving |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best case: cheapest RV vs priciest hotel | $54,000 | $9,000 | 83% |
| Advertised band | as marketed to adjusters | 50–70% | |
| Their own calculator's default | $16,200 (4 mo) | $8,800 (4 mo) | 46% |
| Worst case: priciest RV vs cheapest hotel | $27,000 | $18,000 | 33% |
What the arithmetic actually says
The real band is 33% to 83%, not 50–70%. Their adjuster page publishes hotels at $4,500 – $9,000 a month and their RV at $1,500 – $3,000 a month. Six months at the top of the RV range is $18,000 against $27,000 of hotel at the bottom of theirs. That is a 33% saving, twenty points below the advertised floor.
Their own calculator agrees with us. The default scenario on shelteronsite.com/calculator is $135 a night for 120 nights against $2,200 a month for 4 months, and it returns "46% less than hotel". That is below the 50% floor the adjuster page advertises. Checked September 13, 2026.
So do this: ask for the quote in dollars per month for your specific ZIP and rig size, and compare it against a real extended-stay quote in your own market rather than the national range. The saving is genuine. The size of it swings by fifty points depending on which end of two ranges you land on.
Cost of taking the headline at face value: on a six-month claim, the gap between the advertised 50% and the actual 33% is roughly $4,500 of ALE budget you thought you had.
The Number Nobody Quotes You: the Pad
This is the assumption buried inside every RV-versus-hotel comparison in this category, and it is the one most likely to surprise you.
What the site says: the adjuster page describes placing the unit "in the driveway" with "owner on-site." The whole savings model assumes the RV sits on the insured's own property, where the pad is free and the utilities are already there.
What the site does not say: who pays if it cannot. We read the adjuster and calculator pages on September 13, 2026 and found no statement on pad costs. We are not going to invent one. Ask before you sign.
The arithmetic if the lot does not work: a private RV resort pad runs roughly $400 to $1,500 a month, per the rate research behind our long-term RV rental guide. Add that to their own calculator's four-month example and the 46% saving becomes 36% at a $400 pad and 9% at a $1,500 pad. At the top of that range the RV has stopped being a cost-saving measure and is now a comfort-and-proximity decision.
What decides it: your county. Whether an occupied RV can legally sit on your lot during a rebuild is a zoning question with a permit and usually a day limit attached, and the day limit swings wildly. Marion County, Florida caps a Temporary Use Permit at 60 days. Butte County, California and Collier County, Florida allow 180. Calhoun County, Florida and Sonoma County, California allow 365. Ventura County, California allows up to five years after a disaster.
And do not stop at the word "prohibited." Collier and Orange Counties in Florida are both marked prohibited, and both permit an RV as temporary housing when the principal residence is uninhabitable after a disaster. The baseline rule and the disaster rule are different rules. Ask for the post-disaster exception by name.
So do this, in this order: call county planning first, get the pad answer in writing second, accept the quote third. Reversing those steps is how a rig arrives at a driveway it cannot legally occupy.
The permit names and day limits above come from the TempHomeFinder county RV zoning tracker, the only public attempt at indexing this we have found. We measured it on September 13, 2026: Florida is 55 of 67 counties researched, Louisiana 48 of 64 parishes, California 7 of 58, and the other 47 states have essentially nothing. If you are outside those three states, use it for vocabulary and make the call yourself.
How Shelter On-Site Works
Submit a placement request
One form at /request. The site says it typically responds within 4 hours during business hours.
Feasibility and match
They size the unit to the household and check the property will take it.
Delivery and hookup
48-hour average placement, with utility connection certifications and photo documentation of setup.
Carrier billed monthly
Shelter On-Site invoices the insurer directly with detailed records. The policyholder pays nothing out of pocket.
Rates and Claims, As Published
Everything in this table is quoted from shelteronsite.com on September 13, 2026. Where a figure is not published, we say so rather than estimating.
| Item | As published |
|---|---|
| RV placement, monthly | $1,500 – $3,000 |
| Extended-stay hotel comparison, monthly | $4,500 – $9,000 |
| Six-month claim, RV | $9,000 – $18,000 |
| Six-month claim, hotel | $27,000+ |
| Average placement time | 48 hours |
| Response time | Typically within 4 hours, business hours |
| Coverage | Nationwide |
| Pad or campsite cost, if the lot will not work | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Who obtains county permits | Not stated on the pages we checked |
Shelter On-Site Pros & Cons
✅ Advantages
- Publishes a rate. $1,500 – $3,000/month, which is rare in this category
- Carrier billed directly, so the family fronts nothing
- 48-hour average placement with utility hookup handled
- Keeps you on your own property instead of a hotel 30 minutes away
- Adjuster-grade documentation: photos, utility certs, monthly detailed invoices
- Real operating history behind it through Fireside RV Rental
⚠️ Limitations
- The 50–70% claim overstates the floor. Their own range bottoms out at 33%
- Pad costs are not addressed if the RV cannot go on your lot
- County zoning is left to you, and it is the step that stops deliveries
- Built around an open claim, less useful if you are paying cash
- No rig selection, they size and assign the unit
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Shelter On-Site cost?
$1,500 – $3,000/month for the RV placement, against extended-stay hotels it puts at $4,500 – $9,000 a month. The calculator uses $2,200 a month as its worked example. If the RV cannot sit on your own property, add roughly $400 to $1,500 a month for a park pad, which the site does not address.
Does it really save 50 to 70 percent?
Sometimes. Across their own published ranges the real band is 33% to 83%. Their own calculator returns 46% on its default scenario. Get a quote for your ZIP and compare it to a real local extended-stay rate rather than the national range.
Do I pay anything up front?
Per the site, no. Shelter On-Site invoices the carrier directly every month and states the policyholder pays nothing out of pocket. That is the single most valuable feature here, because fronting four to six months of housing is where most displaced families get hurt.
How fast can they deliver?
48-hour average placement, with responses typically within 4 hours during business hours. Those are the company's published averages, not timings we have independently verified.
Who handles county zoning and permits?
Nothing on the pages we checked says Shelter On-Site does. Call county planning before delivery, and ask about the post-disaster exception by name, because several counties marked prohibited still allow an RV when your home is uninhabitable. Our TempHomeFinder review covers the tracker and the permit names worth asking about.
Who owns Shelter On-Site?
Its own schema gives the legal name as Fireside RV Rental with Garr Russell, CEO of Fireside, as founder. Garr writes for BestRV and Fireside is part of the network we operate alongside, which is why this page carries an in-network disclosure.
What to Ask Before You Accept a Quote
- "Can an occupied RV legally sit on my lot, and for how many days?" Ask county planning, not the provider. Get the permit name and the renewal terms.
- "Does this monthly rate include a pad, or is that separate?" The difference is up to $1,500 a month and it is the number most likely to be missing.
- "Will you invoice my carrier directly, starting which month?" Direct billing is the feature. Confirm it applies to your claim before delivery.
- "What is the monthly rate for my ZIP and my household size?" The published $1,500 to $3,000 is a national range, not a quote.
- Compare against one real local extended-stay quote. Not the national hotel range. The saving in your market may be 33% or 83%.
- Check your ALE time limit, not just the dollar cap. See our ALE breakdown for why time usually runs out first.
Our Verdict
Shelter On-Site is the one of these three that actually puts a rig on your driveway, and it is the only one that publishes a rate and bills your carrier. For a displaced family with an open claim and a driveway the county will permit, that combination is hard to beat. Direct carrier billing in particular solves the real problem in an ALE claim, which is cash flow, not comfort.
We rate it 4.2 rather than higher for two reasons, both about numbers. The advertised 50–70% ALE reduction does not hold at the bottom of its own published range, where the saving is 33%, and its own calculator returns 46%. And the model quietly assumes a free pad on your own lot, which is a county zoning question nobody has answered for you yet. Sort the zoning first, get the pad answer in writing, then take the quote.
In-network operator (Fireside RV Rental) · Rates checked September 13, 2026
Sources
- Shelter On-Site, For Adjusters — the 50–70% ALE reduction claim, monthly hotel and RV ranges, 48-hour placement, direct carrier billing. Checked September 13, 2026.
- Shelter On-Site cost calculator — default scenario of $135/night × 120 nights vs $2,200/month × 4 months returning "46% less than hotel". Checked September 13, 2026.
- Shelter On-Site, About — Organization schema giving legal name Fireside RV Rental and founder Garr Russell.
- TempHomeFinder county RV zoning tracker — Marion, Collier, Orange and Calhoun County (FL) and Butte, Sonoma and Ventura County (CA) permit names and day limits, measured September 13, 2026.
- BestRV pad and rate research — private RV resort pads at $400 to $1,500/month, methodology in our long-term RV rental guide.